Rex Allen Sr. and Jr. In Concert

May 8, 2013

The setting is a small theater in Orlando.  The year is 1984.

Image

Junior.

Image

Senior.

In this recording of the performance, they appear on the same stage but never at the same time.  The Sons of the Pioneers are all over this thing.  Sr. sings “Tumblin’ Tumbleweeds.”  Jr. sings this song:

When I was just a little boy I learned to call the cows

From Eddie Arnold singing strong about the Cattle Call

And I’ll never forget the Pioneer’s singing

‘See Them Tumbling Down’ 

Well, I think it’s time that we put Western Back in the Country sound

Ev’ry time that I hear Rex sing about his ‘Arizona Sky’

Or Roy and Dale’s “Happy Trails”. They always bring a sigh!

My throat gets tight then the tears come

See them tumbling down

But, I think it’s time that we put Western Back in the Country sound.

Hear those Pioneers Singing ’bout cool, clear water

While they’re headin’ for the last roundup …

Yes, I think it’s time that we put Western Back in the Country sound.

Oh, how I wish that I could be ‘Back In The Saddle’ with Gene

But days like that I live again “Only in my dreams”

And when I hear Tex sing ‘High Noon’

My heart comes tumbling down

Well, I think it’s time that we put Western Back in the Country sound. 

One Response to “Rex Allen Sr. and Jr. In Concert”

  1. Madison said

    Ohh. I love “Can’t You Hear Those Pioneers”!

    I love Rex, Sr. 😀

Leave a Reply

