Other Cowboy Stars — John Wayne in “Blue Steel”

August 1, 2011

I’m working my way through the early Wayne films.  I doubt I’ll have a whole lot to say that hasn’t been said all ready, but I’ll collect my thoughts here anyway.

“Blue Steel” (1934) starts with a scene of guests checking into a hotel AND a remarkably off-color joke.  You just don’t hear these kind of gags in B-Westerns…

This young and nervous couple of newlyweds take their key and head up to their room.  A few minutes later the groom comes downstairs and, mumbling and aw-shucking, announces to the proprietor “I can’t find it.”

In related news, John Wayne wears a mighty big hat in this one.

Leave a Reply

