Silent Westerns

November 11, 2009

I’ve been watching a lot of Westerns from the silent era, which is a genre I have not explored a great deal.  Readers of this blog will know that I am a big William S. Hart fan, but outside of his work, I had seen very few silent Westerns.

I can suggest the following films from my recent viewing adventures: the early John Ford epic “The Iron Horse” (1924), the D. W. Griffith produced “Martyrs of the Alamo” (1915), Fred Thomson and Silver King in “Thundering Hoofs” (1924), and a fun 63 minute version of the 10-episode “Hawk of the Hills” serial (1929) with the incredible villain, Frank Lackteen.

Leave a Reply

