Happy Birthday Durango!

March 22, 2009

charles-balloon-dkjpg

Courtesy of Columbia Pictures

3 Responses to “Happy Birthday Durango!”

  1. Delciderio do Carmo said

    Hello. I’m a brazilian Durango Kid Fan. In Brazil, the series was presented on television in the 1970’s, so I knew Charles Starrett when I was only 4′ and I still a big fan today. I never heard the Starrett’s voice, they used to dub the characters with brazilian actors doing the dialogs. In the 1990’s I got a VHS copy containing 5, 6 episodes and I found the incoherent involving Steve’s surname, his past activities and how he moved the white horse’s cavern from town to town a very nice and amusing characteristic of the show. I liked! I think it was creative freedom and an invitation to have fun without take everything serious. Life as it is is so hard, fellows, let’s get some fun, just fun.

    Oh, my mom was born in march 28 too. She loved Steve, she loved to know they were born at the same day but in different years – my mother was born 1928.
    Guess something funny. In Brazil, “Durango” sounds like “duro”, it means “broken”. Even today people say “I’m Durango Kid” when they have no money at all. There’s a lot of fans of Durango Kid in Brazil; most of all watched the movies in movie theaters in 1950’s.

    Well, thanks for this site. I really appreciated to found it on internet. Sorry about my english writting, I never had english lessons, everything I know in your language I learned listen Elvis Presley’s songs. It is the truth, I swear over Durango’s mask.

    Thank you very much.

    Delciderio do Carmo – Sao Paulo – Brazil

  2. mike newton said

    Dear Mr. Carmo: You do very well with the English language, considering you have never had any lessons. Interesting comment about the word “Durango” meaning “no money.” As you probably know, there was no origin story in the movies of how Durango got his name. I believe there may have been an origin story in the comic books. If you find one of those comics today, it would cost you mucho dinero. In the days of the old West, many gunfighters had nicknames like “Tucson,” or “Pecos,’ because that is where they were from. But you never asked a stranger at the bar what his name was or his business, not unless you wanted lead poisoning. Many street kids today go by nicknames because it makes them look cool. I have seen clips of the Durango films on the Internet using the Spanish soundtracks. They appear to be colorized with a brown tint, or is that due to age?

  3. mike newton said

    That is a neat shot of Starrett with the helium baloon. I wonder what the occasion was? It was evidently shot on Columbia’s back lot street. Notice the touring car with the Columbia symbol on the door. Starrett’s black outfit and white neckerchief and Stetson dates it at about 1937-38.

Leave a Reply

