Pronunciation

June 4, 2008

“Starrett” rhymes with “carrot”.

Who knew?

3 Responses to “Pronunciation”

  1. Frank Starrett said

    I did.

    No relation that I know of.
    I wish

  2. Tim said

    I was pronouncing it “Star-rett” (as in shining star) until I saw him interviewed. I hope you haven’t encountered too much mis-pronounciation in your day.
    Thanks for your comment.

  3. I always knew it was pronounced “stare at” even back in the day when I was going to see Durango. My father, who often accompanied me to the movies, told me that he recalled seeing Starrett years before “Durango” when he was a teenager. That’s how he pronounced it. Ironically, I never knew that Starrett hailed from Massachusetts. That’s why he had a more Eastern accent than many of the cowboy stars. At that time, I was living in central New Hampshire. We kids didn’t read the fan magazines that would have had that type of information. Heck, I didn’t even know Roy and Dale were married until my sister told me.

Leave a Reply

